top of page

A Check-Up

I was thinking about my blog title last night and I was trying to figure out if I am actually following through. Am I actually Thriving? Or have I hit survival mode?

Last night when I spilled pureed sweet potato all over the kitchen floor and Max was screaming at the top of his lungs from the other room, I might have been surviving.

When the cat threw up on Monday and I ran to pick it up before the baby discovered it, and then the cat LAYED in it and wouldn't move so I had to drag him to the laundry room - that was probably surviving.

When I had to peel Max off of me seven times yesterday afternoon just so I could finish a quick email which resulted in me laying him down with a paci and his favorite toy and escaping to the kitchen so he couldn't see me - I think that was also survival.

The days are long but the years are short.

On Monday when I took Max out to the back yard and we lay in the hammock together swinging back and forth and he giggled as I kissed him and tickled his neck over and over again, that was thriving.

I actually got out of the house and to swim lessons with him and I cheered for him and celebrated all of his growth in holding his breath and going underwater, that was thriving.

When I gave him his bath and I started singing songs with him and he looked at me with his crystal blue eyes and started laughing and dancing, that moment was very much a moment of thriving.

Motherhood is so different than I imagined it. Some days I count the minutes to nap time so that I can get things done, and then I miss him when he's sleeping. Other days I want to freeze time and forget any other responsibility that I have just so I can hold and play with him all day. I hope I always remember these days since I'll never get them back. I hope I remember how he squeals, how he smells and how wraps his little arms around my neck. I hope I remember how he is so cute when he sucks on his little paci, how he gets SO excited when I get out the cheerio box in the morning and how he is so intrigued by any wheel that he comes across.

I'm very aware that time is ticking faster than a bullet train and that his first summer will soon be over. I'm also aware and panicked that I will not cherish these moments, these days enough and that I will look back and have regrets. I don't want to regret anything.

I know I am so lucky, so blessed to stay home with him all day, but I would be lying if I told you I loved it every single day. I love it most days, but sometimes I need reminders about why this is the best job in the world. I think most people in their dream job have days like that, right? Nothing is perfect all the time.

I want to continue to thrive in my marriage and in motherhood. I want to thrive in my friendships and in my hobbies. I am in that awkward "we're PCSing soon" phase where I don't feel motivated to start anything new (groups, lessons, etc.) so I am hoping I can find new ways to thrive when we get to Florida. As always, it's a period of waiting.

Tell me how you're thriving... Or maybe you've hit survival mode?


Hello! 

 

Hi! I'm Katie. I'm a Momma and a wife and I like to write down my thoughts here. I have a constant goal of thriving (rather than just surviving) as I navigate  my way through my marriage and motherhood. I'm not always successful, but I'd love your company as I learn to

Navigate & Thrive! 

Catch up with me!

  • Black Instagram Icon

SUBSCRIBE
VIA EMAIL

RECENT POSTS

bottom of page