top of page

The Injustice of Dress sizes

Guys, I feel like I need to address this with you.

Clothing sizes are ridiculous.

Let me back up, I'm almost 10 months postpartum. To tell you that I'm comfortable with my new Mombody would be a lie. (I'm working on it.) I have no idea what size I am anymore. Many of my pre-pregnancy clothes fit again, but not all of them. Some days I want to hide in my big maternity stuff, but when I put them on they look ridiculous, so most of that is packed away in a large gray tub in the garage neatly labeled "Katie's Maternity Clothes." Then there is the stuff I've bought since giving birth, the in between stuff. Sometimes it seems fine, sometimes it seems tight and sometimes it seems too big.

I recently realized that I have three dresses, the exact same brand (from Macy's) in sizes, small, medium and large.

What the heck? When I wear the small dress, I feel skinny and small. When I wear the medium dress, I feel mediocre, in the middle, and when I wear the large dress I feel like I haven't made any progress at all since being pregnant. How silly is this!?

It's silly because A) Why are all these dresses different sizes FROM THE SAME BRAND? Why are they doing this to us (okay, me)? and B) WHY am I letting these sizes define me!? (I can't answer that actually.)

So here's the story. The coral striped dress is the dress I bought last spring for my baby shower. It was NOT a maternity dress, and still fits me great. (The waist fit above my bump and said bump wasn't too big to fit underneath it at 30 weeks.) I just wore this dress on Easter. It's a medium.

This dress blue/purply dress is a dress I bought a few weeks ago for a wedding that I went to at the end of June. I started with a medium of this dress, but the chest area was WAY too loose, so I went with a small. It fits great!

Finally, I went back to Macy's in need of a dress for our family photo shoot. I wasn't going to go back to the SAME Maison Jules section, but then this dress caught my eye, and I had to try it on. It's a super cute navy dress, and the size that fit me best? Large.

Am I crazy? Does this happen to you? I know I shouldn't let it get to my head, but it's hard not to feel annoyed that this brand can't be consistent and that their sizing between dresses can be THAT different. It's like they are messing with women's minds, to make us MORE self conscious about our size than we already are. Of course this is true with a lot of my clothing. I have pretty much every size. I can think of things that x-smalls that still fit and things that are x-large. I am willing to admit that it has to do with brands and companies, but THIS is all the same brand. It's injustice I tell you. Tell me I'm not the only one.


Hello! 

 

Hi! I'm Katie. I'm a Momma and a wife and I like to write down my thoughts here. I have a constant goal of thriving (rather than just surviving) as I navigate  my way through my marriage and motherhood. I'm not always successful, but I'd love your company as I learn to

Navigate & Thrive! 

Catch up with me!

  • Black Instagram Icon

SUBSCRIBE
VIA EMAIL

RECENT POSTS

bottom of page