top of page

TV Shows, Books and Blogs

I haven't blogged in over a week because I've been trying to get my computer backed up and it's been taking forever! I probably could have blogged, but sometimes I just don't want to mess with the upload process in fear of slowing it all down. My husband bought this huge network drive, which is awesome, but I also don't really know how to back-up my computer to it. Thankfully he knows how to do it, it's just a slow process. I guess downloading all those fonts and graphics take up a lot of space! (and let's not even address the 8,200 photos and 230 videos I have....)

Anyway, while I wasn't blogging, Chris and I decided to finally catch up on Downton Abbey (if you're waiting to watch the final season, skip ahead!) It was great, but I'm so sad it's over! I was pleased that practically everyone ended up married and happy, some with children, etc. But sometimes, I think happy endings are unrealistic. I'm not saying that people can't be happy, but what are the chances that EVERYONE in a huge family like that is completely happy at the same time? Also, why didn't they share the name of Anna & Mr. Bates' son!? Come on now... I wasn't super happy with the way Mary behaved, but I honestly sometimes see a little bit of myself in her. I'm not saying that I'm a bully like she is, but I do think that the eldest girl role is something that we have in common. I'm so sad that there will not be any more episodes because I feel like I'm losing friends. Is that weird? I think it's a little weird, but it sort of makes sense. We watch shows and read books, and make personal connections with characters. And then when the show or book ends, we feel like we can't catch up or connect with that character again.

I felt the same way about Parenthood actually when that ended, like I was saying goodbye to some good friends. I actually kept the final episode in my DVR for a while in case I wanted to watch it ​

​again. I finally deleted it a while ago though because I only re-watched it once. It was like I wanted to keep them close, but also didn't want to watch that final episode over and over again -- too sad.

I think a lot of people must feel this way because now reviving shows is so big. I'm SUPER excited for Gilmore Girls to return in the fall. Although, I'm worried about there only being 4 episodes. How will I space those episodes out in a timely manner so I can savor the wonderfulness of it? Have you ever felt that way about a book? Like you just can't WAIT to get to the end of a book to find out what happens, but at the same time you DON'T want the book to end because then it will be over?

This is why I love blogs so much. As long as the person is blogging, it's like reading a long continuous story, I like that. Again, we make personal connections with bloggers and we feel like we are best friends, even if we haven't ever met. I was able to meet many bloggers over the last 3 years here - most of them military spouse which is AWESOME. However, I'm afraid there won't be nearly as many (if ANY) in Florida when we get there.

And thank you, dear readers (all seven of you.) Thank you for leaving comments and connecting with me, for being part of my story. Thank you for allowing me to read about your life and feel connected with you, too!


Hello! 

 

Hi! I'm Katie. I'm a Momma and a wife and I like to write down my thoughts here. I have a constant goal of thriving (rather than just surviving) as I navigate  my way through my marriage and motherhood. I'm not always successful, but I'd love your company as I learn to

Navigate & Thrive! 

Catch up with me!

  • Black Instagram Icon

SUBSCRIBE
VIA EMAIL

RECENT POSTS

bottom of page